The Lightning Thief – (The Book)

February 20, 2010 at 6:27 pm Leave a comment


I wanted to go to the movie on President’s Day so I read the book last weekend.  It was a very good story and the only reason I haven’t read it already is that it is always checked out.  I don’t always read the popular books since they seem to be checked out without my promotion.  This book also was chosen last year as the winner of the Division II Minnesota Book choice award by middle school kids in Minnesota.  Anyway, I am glad I read the book before I went to the movie and recently.  They changed quite a few details and plot lines so it was nice to be able to notice it.  They book is about a 6th grade boy who discovers that he is the son of the Greek god Poseidon who had met his mortal mother and he was the result of the union.  The action starts when he discovers he is a demigod and he in then accused of stealing the lightening bolt from Zeus.  Apparently, when you become of age, the enemies and monsters came come and bother you and now it is Percy Jackson’s time.  The book really pulls in the Greek stories but I think explains most of it enough so you don’t have to have too much background knowledge in order to enjoy the book.  It is full of action which I know kids really appreciate. Good book for upper elementary as well.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Rochester Reads Scholastic Book Fair Reads – Girl Power!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Book Sneeze

I review for BookSneeze

